Haunted Black Forest Cake and Black Forest Chocolate Cupcakes

It’s Dark, its kinda scary, but it is so very deliciousimage Don’t be scared! These woods have critters and crawlies everywhere, they are watching you image but they’re all as sweet as can be. image  For some reason, Halloween makes me think of Black Forest Cake, so I styled my cake with a bit of Halloween flare. I call it HauntedBlackForestCake .  From googly eyed critters made from ChocolateCoveredLeaves image to ChocolateDippedMaraschinoCherries   

and topped with a Ghost  that is made of fondant. image ….that screams Halloween, right?  This was a cake that was made at least a thousand times by my mother in law from scratch, this is my first try at it and I hope it is a thumbs up. You can make this cake as simple or as complex as you’d like.  imageChocolate cake from scratch, chocolate cake from a mix image ….. cherry pie filling or fresh cherries image in a delicious, thick sauce, the choice is entirely yours.  When I hear Black Forest Cake, the first thoughts that come to mind are chocolate, cherries and plenty of whipped cream. image You will enjoy the delicious chocolate taste of the cake imagewhile having an ooze of cherry filling once you get in the middle. The frosting and garnish is pretty much the same. image Black Forest Chocolate Cupcake is a smaller version image of the popular Black Forest Cake. I had left over batter so I decided to make this mini version. Simple to make once cupcakes were cooled I cored the center of each image cupcake and filled with the cherry filling image. Once topped with whipped cream and dusted with chocolate shavings I transformed these goodies into a Picture Perfect Halloween Treat… image A perfect combination of chocolate and cherries packed into a cupcake. image Children love their sweet treats and the tasty, delicious cupcake image is no exception. With it’s small size, spongy taste and fluffy whipped topping, the cupcakes are a real hit for Halloween. image Happy Halloween and remember you could never go wrong with Black Forest.image

6 thoughts on “Haunted Black Forest Cake and Black Forest Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Isabel, I popped over here from Teagan’s awesome blog and to be honest, because I saw the word, cake (yes, I’m that shallow), but I’m now following and will visit often because your blog is delicious, I mean, delightful. 😉

    Like

  2. Very nice Black Forest cake ill make sure that I make that for Halloween,and the cupcakes,oh and I saw the recipe for it is those good ingredients or not.please reply

    Like

    1. Thank you for dropping by, and you could make this for any occasion, with a little imagination you could transform this to suit any special occasion. Visit back soon since Christmas is just around the corner…..

      Like

Leave a Reply

